Sugar baron Miguel Ossorio owner of Victorias Milling Co. (the largest sugar refinery in Asia) built the chapel at the end of World War II to serve the spiritual needs of its employees and their families who are living inside the sugar refinery compound.
His son, Alfonso, painted Christ’s image because he wanted something different. He used commercial paints, which surprisingly lasted, the colors were very much alive until now, despite some natural fading. Strong shades of red, blue, yellow and green extend all the way to the ceiling. It took Alfonso Osorio two years, 1948-1950 to complete this murals.
The Salesian priests of St. John Bosco oversee the parish while at the same time administer the Don Bosco Technical Institute located inside the VMC compound.
The chapel is open to those who wish to visit.